Skip to content


What is Etias ?

The EU Travel Information and Authorisation System, otherwise known as ETIAS is a system designed to make travel throughout the Schengen region in Europe safer and more secure.

It was instigated in 2016 as a way of strengthening travel security to Europe and the Schengen area from countries that, at present, require no visa for intended travel.

This new system will be rolled out by 2021, but there is a great deal of confusion as to how it will work. Many people are confused about whether this is the same as the Schengen visa or if it replaces it.

ETIAS Visa vs Schengen Visa: A Comparison

ETIAS Visa is an electronic travel authorization for travelers who presently CAN travel to Europe without a visa.

The ETIAS visa, an acronym that stands for European Travel Information Authorization System, will come into force from November 2023 and will be regulated by the regulations of the European Commission. This permit will be necessary for citizens of some countries outside the European Union to enter one of the member countries, and in particular these are citizens of all those states that today can enter the European Schengen area without requiring a special visa.

The introduction of the ETIAS visa will make it possible to strengthen the security of the borders of the European Union, also in light of the terrorist attacks that have occurred in recent years, and to keep a digital trace of the identity of people entering the countries of the Schengen area.

What is the ETIAS visa and how does it work

etias visa scenghenThe ETIAS visa will come into force in 2023, and is a type of visa very similar to the ESTA, necessary to enter the United States, or the eTA, which is necessary for entry into Canada. This means that this permit can be conveniently applied for online, taking approximately 10 minutes, at the end of which you will receive the visa by e-mail once the application has been approved.

In the online application procedure for the ETIAS visa, the applicant will need to enter various pieces of information, including:

  • personal data, including your residential address, telephone number e-mail address
  • where you should receive your ETIAS visa
  • Information about your education qualifications
  • The passport data or similar travel document with which you intend to enter the European Union
  • Information about your work
  • Answers to questions relating to criminal activities, drug use, travel to war zones, immigration within or outside the European Union.

For people aged between 18 and 70, at the end of this procedure it will also be necessary to pay a fee of €, and then submit the request. Minors and people over 70 can apply for an ETIAS visa free of charge. When applying for a visa for a minor, moreover, you will also need to enter the personal data of the parents or a responsible legal guardian, and if you have family members who are citizens of an EU State, special information on this family status must also be entered.

Once the visa application has been submitted, the data entered will be automatically analyzed and compared with those held by the various European authorities dealing with security and immigration, and once this comparison is over, the applicant will receive his visa by e-mail. Most requests are answered within a few hours, but it is also possible that a more thorough verification is required, in which case the applicant will be contacted so that he can provide all the necessary documents.

In any case, within 4 days the applicant will be notified of the status of the application, and in the event that the ETIAS visa is denied, full details will be provided on the reasons for this decision, and the applicant has the right to file an appeal, considering however that the entire process will take place in the EU country that made the decision to deny the visa.

Frequently Asked Questions about Etias visa

Places to go with ETIAS visa

The latest posts

ETIAS Members

Find information about the European countries that will require an ETIAS.


Visit the ETIAS FAQs section for further information.

ETIAS Update

Check the latest updates on the ETIAS – from news to official reports.

Who we are

ETIAS Schengen is your source of important information and updates about ETIAS, including the latest news and reports you should know regarding its introduction, enforcement, as well as ETIAS Visa application.