Skip to content
Vatican City | ETIAS Schengen Countries

Will I need an ETIAS to visit Vatican City State?

The Vatican City is not a member of the European Union and is only an associate member of the Schengen zone. Visitors to the Vatican City are not subject to passport control when entering from the surrounding Italian territory.

When the ETIAS comes into effect, the Vatican City is expected to join the scheme, alongside Italy. The ETIAS (E.U. Travel Information Authorization System) has been commissioned as a result of increased terrorist activity affecting Europe. There has also been a rise in the level of migrant travel.

It was felt by the European Community that the borders were not strong enough, with visitors being allowed entry based solely on their nationality and not on their personal circumstances. The ETIAS is an authorization to travel into Europe. Without having the ETIAS attached electronically to a travelers passport, they will not be allowed entry to Europe.

To get an ETIAS when they are released in 2021, you will have to fill in an online form. This should take approximately twenty minutes, with various personal questions being asked, including criminal history, previous travel to countries in conflict and exposure to certain medical conditions.

Once the online application is complete, and the fee has been paid, your ETIAS will be attached to your passport. The majority of travelers will receive the ETIAS, some may need to provide further information, and some may not be authorized for travel.
The ETIAS is valid for three years from issue and authorizes travel for 90 days out of 180.

About Vatican City State

Vatican City, officially the Vatican City State or the State of the Vatican City, is a landlocked independent city-state situated in the city of Rome, in Italy.

It is the smallest independent country in the world with an area of 0.44 sq. km. It has a population of about 1000 people. Enjoying extraterritorial rights are thirteen buildings in Rome, and one at Castel Gandolfo, which is the Pope’s summer residence.

The official religion is Christianity, and the official currency is the euro. The Vatican City is the headquarters of the Roman Catholic Church.
Located within the city is the Apostolic Palace, the official residence of the Pope. The major languages are Italian and Latin, but many other European languages are used.

Accommodation is not available to the general public in Vatican City; travelers generally arrange their accommodation in Rome. The months of April, May, September, and October are some of the most pleasant times to visit the Vatican. During this time there are fewer crowds, and the days are long and sunny without the humidity present in high summer.

Situated entirely within the city of Rome, but separated from the rest of the city by a tall wall, the Vatican City spreads west of the River Tiber.
Vatican City is made up of the Vatican, the Vatican Gardens, St. Peter’s Church and St. Peter’s Church Gardens.

Vatican City State at a glance

Capital: Vatican City

Timezone: UTC/GMT +1 hour

Languages: Latin, Italian, French

Area: 0 KM2

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Population: 921

Calling Code: +379

Travel in Vatican City State

The Vatican City attracts visitors from all over the world and from all walks of life. Many visitors come for religious reasons, but many also come for the culture and the amazing displays of art and pageantry.

Famous sites include the Vatican Palace where the Pope officially resides in the winter. Located inside the majestic Palace lies the awe-inspiring Sistine Chapel, home to the most famous ceiling in the world. All visitors crane their necks to look at The Last Judgement by Michelangelo, for most, a once in a lifetime experience. Frescos painted by Perugino, Domenico Ghirlandaio and Botticelli are world famous.

The Vatican City hosts an astonishing number of paintings and artworks. St. Peter’s Basilica has had such notable architects as Bramante, Michelangelo, Giacomo, Mademo and Bernini. This is Renaissance Architecture at its finest.

The world’s smallest country does not have its own cuisine, but it does have plenty of local restaurants, typically offering good Italian cuisine to suit a variety of budgets.

The US and Vatican City State

Vatican City is the territory of the Holy See, the central government of the Catholic Church and the seat of the episcopal jurisdiction.

The Vatican City and the Holy See, although closely associated, are distinct. Embassies are accredited to the Holy See, and it is The Holy See, not the Vatican City, that holds diplomatic relations with various sovereign states.

As a universal government of the Catholic Church, the Holy See operates from Vatican City. The Pope rules over them both. The Holy See and the U.S.A. consult and cooperate on many international topics of mutual interest. These topics include human rights, peace and conflict prevention.

The U.S. and the Holy See have a positive relationship that serves to proclaim a global message of justice, freedom, and peace.

The U.S. and the Holy See are both members of the following organization

  • Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe

The Holy See is an observer to the following organizations, of which the U.S. is a member

  • The United Nations
  • Organization of American States
  • World Trade Organization

There are no direct flights to Vatican City because there are no airports. The closest airport is in Rome. Direct flights from the U.S to Rome can have a flight time of under 9 hours.

List of US diplomatic offices in Vatican City

The Embassy of USA in Vatican City

Address: Via Sallustiana, 49 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone: (+39) 06-4674-1
Fax: (+39) 06-4674-3412
Facts: Callista L. Gingrich – Ambassador

The Embassy of Vatican City in Washington, USA

Address: 3339 Massachusetts Ave NW Washington, DC 20008-3610
Phone: 202-333-7121
Fax: 202-337-4036
Email: [email protected]
Facts: Archbishop Christophe Pierre – Apostolic Nuncio

Who we are

ETIAS Schengen is your source of important information and updates about ETIAS, including the latest news and reports you should know regarding its introduction, enforcement, as well as ETIAS Visa application.